Saguaro National Park

Saguaro National Park is composed of the Tucson Mountain District (TMD) and Rincon Mountain District (RMD). Both were formed to protect and exhibit forests of the park’s namesake plant: the saguaro cactus. The TMD ranges from 2,180 to 4,687 ft and contains desert scrub and desert grassland communities. Common wildlife include the coyote, Gambel’s quail, and desert tortoise. The RMD ranges from 2,670 to 8,666 ft and contains six biotic communities: desert scrub, desert grassland, oak woodland, pine-oak woodland, pine forest, and mixed conifer forest. Because of the higher elevation, animals like the black bear, Mexican spotted owl, Arizona mountain king snake, and white-tailed deer live in this district.